Jan Scholten

English: Nightshade order.
Botany: corolla plicate; interal phloem.
Content: tropane alkaloids; iridoids lacking.
DD: Fluorine; Silver series; Lanthanides.

In the Apg3 classification the Solanales has 2 big families, the Solanaceae and the Convolvulaceae. It has 3 smaller families, Montiniaceae, Sphenocleaceae and Hydroleaceae.
In the previous classifications also the Boraginaceae and Hydrophyllaceae have been associated with the Solanales but in the later Apg3 classification they have been put in their own order, the Boraginales.
In the Plant theory the family Solanaceae has been split up into several groups, the subfamilies of the Solanaceae. The Solanaceae is a big family with many well-known homeopathic remedies. They have much in common but there are also striking differences. The first subfamily that should be distinguished is the Daturoideae, the group of Belladonna, Hyoscyamus and Stramonium. It is the group that contains the alkaloids like atropin, hyoscyanin and scopolamin. The Daturoideae are the group that has high levels of Lithium and are in Subphase 1.
The second subgroup is the Solanoideae, the groups consisting mostly of the genus Solanum. It is the group that consists of many vegetables and has a high content of solanin. It is Subphase 2 of the Solanales. This genus is quite heterogenous and can be split up into several genera. In other words the genus can be lifted to the level of family.
The third subfamily and group is around Nicotiana tabacum, the tobacco. It contains nicotine. This group also has Petunia, Duboisea and Brunfelsia as members. They contain scopoletin, a compound lacking nitrogen.
The Cronquist system,included the families: Duckeodendraceae; Nolanaceae; Cuscutaceae; Retziaceae (now in Stilbaceae); Menyanthaceae (now in Asterales); Polemoniaceae (now in Ericales); Hydrophyllaceae (now in Boraginaceae)

1. Daturoideae.
2. Solanoideae.
3. Nicotianoideae.
4. Lycioideae.
5. Capsicoideae.
6. Convolvulaceae.
7. Cuscutaceae.

Montiniaceae: Grevea, Kaliphora, Montinia.
Sphenocleaceae: Sphenoclea.
Hydroleaceae: Hydrolea.