Jan Scholten

English: Heather family; Heather order.
Botany: 126 genera; ± 4000 species; worldwide; sandy, acid, infertile soil, high in MgO, FeO, MnO, low in silica, nutrients; herbs, shrubs; leaves alternate or whorled, simple, without stipules; petals often fused, narrowly tubular to funnelform or bowl-shaped; flowers symmetrical; mycorrhizal fungi assist in extracting nutrients from infertile soils.
DD: Boron, Oxygen, Muriaticum, Natrium, Kalium, Carbon series; Silicon series; Iron series; Lanthanides; Fabaceae; Malpighiales; Salicaceae.

In the Cronquist system Ericales were placed in the Dilleniidae and included Ericaceae, Cyrillaceae, Clethraceae, Grubbiaceae, Empetraceae, Epacridaceae, Pyrolaceae and Monotropaceae. In 2002 research of Kron led to the inclusion of the formerly recognised families Empetraceae, Epacridaceae, Monotropaceae, Prionotaceae and Pyrolaceae into the Ericaceae. In the Apg3 classification Ericales is a broad Order Ericales, a combination of formerly separate Orders like Theales, Ericales, Primulales, Ebenales and other families. The Ericaceae, Clethraceae and Cyrillaceae together form a monophyletic clade in the Ericales Order. The older Families Empetraceae, Epacridaceae and Monotropaceae are as Subfamilies included in Ericaceae.
In the Plant theory Ericales are treated as an order in a more extensive clade Ericidae, which in the Apg3 classification is called Ericales. The clade of Ericaceae, Clethraceae and Cyrillaceae is taken together as an Order and placed in Phase 6 of Ericidae. The Order is best named Ericales when one is considering the ambiguity of that name. The Subfamilies of the Ericaceae are raised to the level of Family and in placed in the Subphase as below. The division in Subphases is tentative, as many members are unknown in homeopathy.

1. Clethraceae.
2. Cyrillaceae.
3. Ericoideae, Ericaceae in the strict sense; probably including Cassiope.
4. Arbutoideae, Artbutaceae.
5. Styphelioideae, Epacridaceae.
6. Vaccinioideae, Vacciniaceae; probably including Harrimanella.
7. Monotropoideae, Monotropaceae; probably including Pyroloideae and Enkianthoideae.

Enkianthoideae: 1 genus, 16 species.
Pyroloideae: 4 genera, 40 species.
Monotropoideae: 10 genera, 15 species.
Arbutoideae: 5 genera; 80 species.
Cassiopoideae: 1 genus, Cassiope; 12 species.
Ericoideae: 19 genera, 1790 species.
Harrimanelloideae: 1 genus, Harrimanella; 2 species.
Styphelioideae: 35 genera, 545 species.
Vaccinioideae: 50 genera, 1580 species.